County Commissioners Swearing in Ceremony Jan. 9

County Commissioners Swearing in Ceremony Jan. 9

Pontiac, MI- The Oakland County Board of Commissioners will hold its first meeting of the 2019-2020 session and will welcome six (6) new members, including Thomas Kuhn, Penny Luebs (pictured, middle), Gwen Markham (pictured, right), William Miller, Kristen Nelson and Angela Powell (pictured, left), as well as 15 incumbents. Chief Circuit Court Judge Shalina Kumar will deliver the invocation, Sheriff Michael J. Bouchard will lead in the Pledge of Allegiance and Oakland County Clerk/Register of Deeds Lisa Brown will give the oath of office.

The following commissioners will serve a two-year term:

District 1: Michael J. Gingell (R-Lake Orion)

District 2: Robert Hoffman (R-Highland Township)

District 3: Michael Spisz (R-Oxford)

District 4: Thomas F. Middleton (R-Clarkston)

District 5: Kristen Nelson (D-Waterford)

District 6: Eileen Kowall (R-White Lake)

District 7: Christine Long (R-Commerce Township)

District 8: Philip J. Weipert (R-South Lyon)

District 9: Gwen Markham (D-Novi)

District 10: Angela Powell (D-Pontiac)

District 11: Thomas Kuhn (R-Troy)

District 12: Shelley Goodman Taub (R-Bloomfield Township)

District 13: Marcia Gershenson (D-Bloomfield Township)

District 14: William Miller (D-Farmington)

District 15: Adam Kochenderfer (R-Rochester Hills)

District 16: Penny Luebs (D-Clawson)

District 17: Nancy Quarles (D-Southfield)

District 18: Helaine Zack (D-Huntington Woods)

District 19: David T. Woodward (D-Royal Oak)

District 20: Gary R. McGillivray (D-Madison Heights)

District 21: Janet Jackson (D-Southfield)

Commissioner David T. Woodward will serve as Board Chairman and Commissioner Marcia Gershenson will serve as Board Vice Chairwoman. Commissioner Gary R. McGillivray and Commissioner Janet Jackson will serve as chairperson and vice chairperson, respectively, of the Board’s Democratic Caucus.

When: Wednesday, January 9, 2019 at 5:30 p.m.

Where:  Commissioners Auditorium

Courthouse – Building 12E

1200 North Telegraph Road

Pontiac, Michigan 48341


Previous stories:  County Commission Goes Blue for First Time in Decades (Nov. 7, 2018)

County Commission Leadership Selected, Dave Woodward to Serve as Chair (Nov. 19, 2018)


Visit the Event Page for other fun and educational things to do!

To submit an event, email info to

Sign up for Daily Headlines HERE.

Chip in towards our funding HERE.

Advertising does not imply affiliation with any event or endorsement of any posts on Oakland County Times unless noted. Thank you to all of the sponsors who make this website possible. For advertising info CLICK HERE.





About the author

Oakland County Times has written 14088 articles for Oakland County Times

Contact for any questions or story ideas! Please support this work by becoming an advertising sponsor or by chipping in through the PayPal button on the right side of the page.

Comments are closed.