New Law Reduces Number of Days for Fireworks

New Law Reduces Number of Days for Fireworks

Lansing, MI – The number of days one can set off fireworks in Michigan has been reduced from 30 to about a dozen since Public Acts 633, 634, and 635 were signed into law at the end of 2018.

Bills were introduced by Rep. Jim Lilly (R-Park Twp.) and Rep. John Chirkun (D-Roseville) to reduce the number of days that local authorities must allow fireworks in their communities.

Local governments can allow for more, but under the new law they cannot ban them during on the following days after 11 am:

~Dec. 31 until 1 a.m. on Jan. 1

~The Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding Memorial Day until 11:45 p.m. on both days

~June 29 to July 4 until 11:45 p.m. each day

~July 5, if that date is a Friday or Saturday, until 11:45 p.m.

~The Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding Labor Day until 11:45 p.m. each day

Local units of government may regulate the use of fireworks outside of those hours and can impose a civil fine for each violation.The fine was previously limited to $500 per violation.  However the new law increases that to $1,000, and requires half of the fine to go to the police department towards enforcement.

PA 633 also gives Fire Chiefs, the Department of Natural Resources, the State Fire Marshal, and the Governor the power to enforce a no-burning restriction in case of drought or other weather conditions. It also requires that the public be notified once the ban has been lifted.

For more on the Michigan Legislature, visit http://www.legislature.mi.gov.

About the author

Oakland County Times has written 11090 articles for Oakland County Times

The Oakland County Times started with one city in 2009 and has grown to the community news hub you see today. Contact editor@oc115.com if you have any questions, comments, event listings, etc. Please support this work by becoming an advertising sponsor or check out our online community garden. Also happy to hear tips and story ideas.

Comments are closed.