2018 Primary Election Results and Voter Selfies

2018 Primary Election Results and Voter Selfies

(Compiled, Aug. 7, 2018)

Oakland County, MI –  Here are some of Oakland County’s election results.  For the most up to date numbers visit the Oakland County Clerk’s page.

Scroll down to check out our collection of “I Voted” sticker selfies!


SMART renewal – Pass (total numbers not in as of 1am)

Addison: Police Millage – Pass (73.52%),  Fire Millage – Pass (78.94%),  N. Oakland Transportation – Pass (69.28%)

Bloomfield Township: Safety Path – Pass (71.09)

Highland: Fire Millage: Pass (71.09%), Library Pass (62.25%), Police Pass (72.30%)

Independence Township: Police Pass (76.89 %), Safety Path (69.41%)

Milford: Fire Pass (62.62%)

Orion: Safety Path Pass (64.68%), Parks & Rec Pass (57.20%), North Oakland Transportation Pass (68.88%)

Oxford: North Oakland Transportation Pass (74.19%)

Waterford: Police/Fire Pass (53.55%)

White Lake: Police Pass (72.36%), Fire Pass (76.77%), Library Pass (59.29%)

Farmington Hills: Parks & Rec Pass (76.27%)

Oak Park: Public Safety Headlee Pass (76.27%), Public Safety Retirement Savings Pass (70.06%)

Pontiac: Medical Marijuana Facilities Proposal 1 – Pass (50.06%), Proposal 2 Pass (50.33), Proposal 3 Fail (50.21%)

Royal Oak: Charter Revision on Elected Official Recall Pass (87.24%), Charter Revision to Allow any Commissioner to run for Mayor Pass (64.47%)

Beverly Hills: Charter Change on Petitioning Pass (84.43%)

Berkley Schools: Millage Pass (73.83%)

Hazel Park Schools: Operations Millage Pass (64.81%), Building Millage Pass (63.16%)

GOVERNOR’S RACE – Republican Bill Schuette and Democrat Gretchen Whitmer have won their respective primaries.

US SENATE – Republican John James will be facing incumbent Democrat Debbie Stabenow in the November election.


8th District – Republican Mike Bishop will face Democrat Elissa Slotkin.

9th District – Republican Candius Stearns will face Democrat Andy Levin.  Levin was a close second among Oakland County voters, but did well in Macomb County which secured his lead.

11th District – Republican Lana Epstein will face Democrat Haley Stevens.

14th District – Republican Marc Herschfus will face Democrat Brenda Lawrence.

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS -Below are the winners of the primaries, who will face off in November:

Dist. 1 – Mike Gingell (R), Michelle Bryant (D)

Dist. 2 – Bob Hoffman (R), Danielle McCluskey (D)

Dist. 3 – Michael Spisz (R), Michelle McClellan (D)

Dist. 4 – Tom Middleton (R), Ted Villella (D)

Dist. 5 – Tom J. Berman (R), Kristen Nelson (D)

Dist. 6 – Eileen Kowall (R), Tarrie Duke (D)

Dist. 7 – Christine Long (R), Karen J. Adams (D)

Dist. 8 – Phil Weipert (R), Toni Nagy (D)

Dist. 9 – Hugh D. Crawford (R), Gwen Markham (D)

Dist. 10 – David Foster (R), Angela Powell (D)

Dist. 11 – Thomas E. Kuhn (R), Ann Erickson Gault (D)

Dist. 12 – Shelley Goodman Taub (R), Cherie Horrigan-Happy (D)

Dist. 13 – Michelle Dinardo (R), Marcia Gershenson (D)

Dist. 14 – Bill Galvin (R), William Miller (D)

Dist. 15 – Adam Kochenderfer (R), Mary Wand (D)

Dist. 16 – Wade Fleming (R), Penny Luebs (D)

Dist. 17 – results not yet available

Dist. 18 – Steven Zimberg (R), Helaine Zack (D)

Dist. 19 – Michael Ryan (R), Dave Woodward (D)

Dist. 20 – Chris Adams (R), Gary McGillivray (D)

Dist. 21 – Richard VanCamp (R), Janet Jackson (D)

STATE REPRESENTATIVES – Below are the winners of the primaries, who will face off in November:

Dist. 26 – Al Gui (R), Jim Ellison (D)

Dist. 27 – Janet Flessland (R), Robert Wittenberg (D), Benjamin Carr (L)

Dist. 29 – Timothy Carrier (R), Brenda Carter (D)

Dist. 35 – Theodore Alfonsetti (R), Kyra Harris Bolden (D)

Dist. 37 – Mitch Swoboda (R), Christine Greig (D)

Dist. 38 – Kathy Crawford (R), Kelly Breen (D), Brian Wright (L)

Dist. 39 – Ryan Berman (R), Jennifer Suidan (D), Anthony Croff (L)

Dist. 40 – David Wolkinson (R), Mari Manoogian (D)

Dist. 41 – Doug Tietz (R), Padma Kuppa (D)

Dist. 43 – Andrea Schroeder (R), Nicole Breadon (D)

Dist. 44 – Matt Maddock (R), Laura Dodd (D)

Dist. 45 – Michael Webber (R), Kyle Cooper (D)

Dist. 46 – John Reilly (R), Mindy Deninger (D)

Dist. 51 – Mike Mueller (R), David E. Lossing (D)

STATE SENATOR – Below are the winners of the primaries, who will face off in November:

Dist. 11 – Boris Tuman (R), Jeremy Moss (D), James Young (L)

Dist. 12 – Michael McCready (R), Rosemary Bayer (D), Jeff Pittel (L)

Dist. 13 – Marty Knollenberg (R), Mallory McMorrow (D)

Dist. 14 – Ruth Johnson (R), Renee Watson (D)

Dist. 15 – Jim Runestad (R), Julia Pulver (D)

BRANDON TOWNSHIP TRUSTEE – Jayson Rumball (R), Marisa Prince (D)

About the author

Oakland County Times has written 10102 articles for Oakland County Times

The Oakland County Times started with one city in 2009 and has grown to the community news hub you see today. Contact editor@oc115.com if you have any questions, comments, event listings, etc. Please support this work by becoming an advertising sponsor or check out our online community garden. Also happy to hear tips and story ideas.

Comments are closed.