County Commissioners Sworn In

County Commissioners Sworn In

(Crystal A. Proxmire, Jan. 11, 2017)

Pontiac, MI – The Oakland County Board of Commissioners made their official start to the 2017-2018 term with a swearing in ceremony Wednesday night at the County Commission building in Pontiac.  Nineteen of the Commissioners were incumbents that had been re-elected.  Two new Commissioners took the Oath of Office as well: Republican Tom J. Berman of Keego Harbor and Republican Doug Tietz of Troy.

Republican Michael J. Gingell was re-appointed to serve as the Chairperson of the Board, with Republican Michael Spisz serving as Vice-Chair.  Only Commissioner Marcia Gershenson voted against the appointments, stating she would prefer to see a woman serving in the leadership position.

After taking the Oath of Office, each Commissioner welcomed those who had come to see them get sworn in.

The Commissioners, who serve two year terms, are as follows:

Tom J.  Berman (R- City of Keego Harbor,  City of  Orchard Lake Village,  City of Sylvan Lake,

Waterford Township and West Bloomfield Township)

David E.S. Bowman (D-City of Pontiac)

Hugh D. Crawford (R- City of Novi, City of Northville and Novi Township)

Bill Dwyer  (R-City of Farmington, City of  Farmington Hills, Southfield Township, Village of Beverly Hills, Village of Bingham Farms and Village of Franklin)

Wade Fleming (R-City of Clawson, City of Troy and City of Royal Oak)

Marcia Gershenson (D- City of Farmington Hills, Bloomfield Township and West Bloomfield Township)

Michael J. Gingell (R-City of Auburn Hills, City of Lake Angelus, Independence Township, Orion Township and the Village of Lake Orion).

Bob Hoffman  (R-Groveland Township, Highland Township, Holly Township, Rose Township, Springfield Township and Village of  Holly)

Janet Jackson (D- City of Farmington Hills and City of Southfield)

Adam Kochenderfer ((R- City of Rochester and City of Rochester Hills)

Eileen T. Kowall (R- Waterford Township and White Lake Township)

Christine A.  Long (R-City of Walled Lake, Commerce Township, West Bloomfield Township and Village of Wolverine Lake)

Gary McGillivray (D-City of Madison Heights, City of Pleasant Ridge, City of Royal Oak and City of Troy)

Thomas F. Middleton (R- City of the Village of Clarkston, Independence Township and Waterford Township)

Nancy L. Quarles (D- City of Lathrup Village, City of Oak Park and City of Southfield)

Michael Spisz (R- Addison Township, Brandon Township, Oakland Township, Oxford Township, Village of Leonard, Village of Ortonville and Village of Oxford).

Shelley Goodman Taub (R -City of Birmingham, City of Bloomfield Hills and Bloomfield Township)

Doug Tietz (R-City of Auburn Hills, City of Rochester Hills and City of Troy)

Philip J. Weipert (R-City of South Lyon, City of Wixom, Lyon Township, Milford Township and the Village of Milford)

Dave Woodward (D- City of Berkley and City of Royal Oak)

Helaine Zack (D- City of Ferndale, City of Hazel Park, City of Huntington Woods, City of Oak Park and Royal Oak Township).

The National Anthem was sang by the 2016 American Guild of Music’s NAIC Award Winner Adele Houle.

Learn more about the Oakland County Board of Commissioners at


About the author

Oakland County Times has written 14090 articles for Oakland County Times

Contact for any questions or story ideas! Please support this work by becoming an advertising sponsor or by chipping in through the PayPal button on the right side of the page.

Comments are closed.